All purpled out!

I’ve been living in the Malvern Hills area in Worcestershire for about 3 years.  Whilst driving around, I noticed this large patch of Devil’s Bit Scabious in flower with around 10 Small Tortoiseshells nectaring on them.  Not missing an opportunity in perfect light, I grabbed the camera and got snapping away.  2 and a half  hours later and almost 8gb of memory in the bag, I packed up and went home hoping that I’d made the most of the opportunities.  This is the first time I’ve photographed Small Tortoiseshell butterflies so I was very pleased with the results.  Here’s some of the edited images.  Enjoy!

 

Small Tortoiseshell on Devils Bit Scabious, Malvern Hills, Worcestershire

Small Tortoiseshell on Devils Bit Scabious, Malvern Hills, Worcestershire

Backlit Small Tortoiseshell on Devils Bit Scabious, Malvern Hills, Worcestershire

Leave a Reply

