Project: Marsh Fritillary Euphydryas aurinia

Just a quick blog to show what I’ve up to today.
A friend of mine tipped me off to a site in Gloucestershire where there has been a mass emergence of Marsh Fritillaries.   An hours drive away from my home in Malvern, I set out at 6.15am to get there before the temperature started rising.  Well… I arrived on site and it was 3 degrees above freezing with a light layer of frost on the ground.  Couldn’t believe I had to wear my gloves!
Due to the temperatures plummeting and the wind still quite strong, it was an hour and a half before I found the first Fritillary as they were well tucked into the long grass.
With the temperatures warming up, luckily for me they showed extremely well and I got some great photographs for my portfolio.  I counted at least 70 on site within a smallish area.  The warden had said there has been up to 120 counted in the last few days and a possible 500 estimated over the entire site! I think its going to be a very good year for this little butterfly.
The image below was taken with my usual macro setup; Canon 1D mk4 and Canon 100mm f/2.8 macro lens.   I’d noticed this individual basking on this grass stem and after shooting with the sun behind me to get the usual front on image, I decided to shoot with the sun in front of me to get this backlit shot. The background is a distance woodland partly in sun giving this very camouflage type pattern.
Settings for those interested:
1/250sec at f/7.1, -2/3 exposure compensation, ISO400
Subject distance- 43cm
More to follow as I process them so please keep checking back for more pics.

 

Leave a Reply

