010/365

Yesterdays image was a portrait of a Crocus flower, so today image 010 is another portrait in the form of this Puffin with a beakful of sandeels.

I wanted to get as large an image as possible so I opted to use my 500mm lens with a 1.4x and a 25mm extension tube. The 25mm extension tube reduces the minimum focusing distance of the lens by 25% (if you were using a 36mm it would reduce by 36% etc but you would lose more light entering the lens. With the 500mm the minimum focussing distance is 4.5m so I could have moved to 3.37m away with the extension on). Looking at the exif data I was 4.6m away from the subject and the settings were 1/1250th sec @ f/8.0 and ISO 800. In hind site the closer wing is still out of focus, so I should have used around f/16 to keep everything in focus. The shutter speed would have dropped to 1/320th but the backdrop of the sea was still far enough away to keep it nice and clean. This puffin was stationary so I could have got away with this shutter speed and just chosen my moment to take the picture between head turns. I was that close to this individual you can see me in the reflection of its eye and the other people standing around me. Check out the 100% crop underneath!

Puffin, Fratercula arctica, Farne Islands, Northumberland, July, 2011.
Canon 1d Mk4, Canon 500mm f/4.0 L IS lens, with Canon 1.4xII converter and Canon 25mm extension tube. (I do use a lot of canon gear!! lol 😉 )

9 thoughts on “010/365

Leave a Reply

