092/365 Goosander

Like the Great crested Grebe, image 092 is another fish eating species called a Goosander.  These occur on rivers and streams in the breeding season, but will occur on any large water body during the winter months.  I had seeen a small group of wintering goosander on my local reservoir so sat in the water for a few hours trying my luck.  I had a few close encounters with them and this female was the best of the session.  I just wish she had turned her head a few degrees towards me. 😉

Goosander, Mergus merganser, West-Midlands.

Leave a Reply

