224/365 Misty Knot Calidris canutus

Definitely a marmite shot for the viewers of my blog.  I wanted to capture the big flocks of Knot during the hide tides at Snettisham RSPB in Norfolk.  Setting the alarm for stupid o’clock in the morning I arrived on site to the sound of hundreds of thousands of Knot on the estuary.  I emphasise sound of Knots as I couldn’t see 20 metres in front of me because of a heavy sea fog that had enveloped the whole of the estuary.   Getting into position I knew the fog would lift eventually but not as soon as I would have liked. As the tide came in all those thousands of Knot, Oystercatcher, Godwits, Dunlin, all those fantastic birds I should have been photographing were pushed off the estuary where they were feeding to roost on the reserve, straight over the top of my head.  The only problem was the fog was still to thick to do anything with them.  After an hour or so, the sun started to burn off the fog and small shapes were starting to appear.  Even though you can’t make out what the birds are (unless you an expert in identifying birds’ silhouettes) I still liked the contrast and mystery of these images as the birds tried to find a place to roost.

Knot, Calidris canutus, Snettisham RSPB, Norfolk, September, 2013.
Canon 5DIII with Canon 500mm f/4 L IS lens.

224/365 Knot

Leave a Reply

