5 raptors over Bilston!! Impossible….. or is it?

I’m sitting here writing this as a very happy person.

Wanting to do a bit of birdwatching this afternoon I decided to do a migration watch from the garden. The sun was quite hot so I thought it was good conditions for migratory birds of prey.  Sitting in the garden for an hour I had a single Peregrine being mobbed by a Kestrel, which I’m presuming is one from the Peregrine pair in Birmingham.  A Sparrowhawk flew through the garden made another bird of prey.  This was followed by 2 Buzzards catching a thermal but they were lost to view after about 2 minutes.  Relocating the 2 Buzzards again there was a third bird that had joined them.  This bird was slightly larger, noticeably longer winged and white underneath. An Osprey!! Grabbing my camera very quickly, I managed to get some very distant (and I mean distant!!) record shots of the individual.  Blowing the images up to 200%, I made out the slivery pattern on the upperwing and a lack of a sub terminal band on the tail making this a juvenile Osprey! Fantastic! Another tick for the garden bringing the total up to 69! I wonder what the next garden tick will be… 

Leave a Reply

